KMAT 2026
Karnataka Private Post Graduate Colleges' Association (KPPGCA)
Quick Actions
Overview
The Karnataka Management Aptitude Test (KMAT) is conducted by the Karnataka Private Post Graduate Colleges' Association (KPPGCA), Bangalore, for admission to MBA, PGDM and MCA programmes in its member institutions in Karnataka. KPPGCA was established on 29 January 2003, and its home page lists 159 member institutions for MBA and 69 for MCA. KMAT is open to candidates from all over India. This page covers KMAT Karnataka; Kerala has a separate test, the Kerala Management Aptitude Test (K-MAT), run by the Commissioner for Entrance Examinations, Kerala, whose 2026 candidate portals are listed on cee.kerala.gov.in.
The KMAT 2026 pages of kmatindia.com do not publish registration, test or result dates. The FAQ says registration opens from May 2026 and that candidates report one hour before the scheduled start time, but it gives no session dates, so each date below is marked as not published.
KMAT at a glance
| Item | Details |
|---|---|
| Conducting body | Karnataka Private Post Graduate Colleges' Association (KPPGCA), Bangalore |
| Level | Postgraduate management and computer applications |
| Purpose | Admission to MBA, PGDM and MCA programmes in KPPGCA member institutions in Karnataka |
| Mode | Home-based online remote-proctored test (FAQs, key dates and test centres pages) |
| Sessions | Not stated on the pages read |
| Duration | 2 hours (120 minutes) |
| Questions and marking | 120 multiple-choice questions; +1 for each correct answer, no negative marking |
| Application fee | Rs 873 including GST; non-refundable unless paid twice for the same course |
| Official website | kmatindia.com |
Important dates (KMAT 2026)
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration opens | Not published (the FAQ says from May 2026) |
| Last date to apply | Not published |
| Admit card | Not published (issued online) |
| Test | Not published |
| Result | Not published (the score card shows the net score and percentile) |
Participating institutions
Candidates share KMAT scores with the institutions they select during the application. The home page lists 159 member institutions for MBA and 69 for MCA, while the key dates and about pages say 189 and the FAQ says 169 or more B-schools, so the counts differ between pages.
Sources: KMAT home page; Key dates; FAQs; About KMAT; KMAT application portal; K-MAT 2026 portal, CEE Kerala. Checked on 5 October 2026.
Conducting Body
Karnataka Private Post Graduate Colleges' Association (KPPGCA)
Category
Management
Level
University
Important Dates
| Event | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Application opens | Not announced yet | Awaiting official notice |
| Application closes | Not announced yet | Awaiting official notice |
| Exam date | Not announced yet | Awaiting official notice |
Eligibility Criteria
The KMAT 2026 eligibility page states the criteria below in general terms and says individual institutions may vary.
| Criterion | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Qualifying degree | Bachelor's degree of at least three years, or a master's degree, from a recognised institution in Commerce, Management, Arts, Social Sciences, Engineering or Technology, or an equivalent discipline |
| Minimum marks | At least 50% in aggregate (general category); 45% for SC/ST candidates is described as typically accepted |
| Final-year candidates | Usually eligible if they meet the minimum percentage at the time of application |
| Nationality and domicile | Registration is open to candidates from all over India, regardless of domicile state |
| Age limit and attempts | Not stated on the pages read |
- The FAQ adds that a graduate degree is required and that entry requirements for MBA, PGDM and MCA in Karnataka follow UGC guidelines.
- Specific institutions or universities may vary the criteria, so each member institution's own requirement applies at admission.
Source: KMAT 2026 eligibility, FAQs and key dates pages (KMAT 2026 cycle).
Exam Pattern
The FAQs describe KMAT 2026 as a home-based online remote-proctored test of 120 multiple-choice questions in 120 minutes. The website's pages describe the sections differently, so both versions are shown.
| Section (FAQs and syllabus) | Topics listed on the Test Structure page |
|---|---|
| Verbal Ability and Reading Comprehension | Reading comprehension, vocabulary, grammar, synonyms, antonyms, sentence completion |
| Quantitative Ability | Arithmetic, algebra, geometry, trigonometry, statistics, modern mathematics |
| Logical Reasoning | Analogy, blood relations, coding-decoding, direction sense, series, puzzles, logical connectives, Venn diagrams, data sufficiency |
| General Awareness | Named as a fourth section in the FAQs; no topic list is given |
| Course (Test Structure page) | Test | Questions |
|---|---|---|
| MBA | Language Comprehension 40, Mathematical Skills 40, Basic Aptitude 40 | 120 |
| MCA | Language Comprehension 40, Mathematical Skills 40, Logical Reasoning 40 | 120 |
- Marking: +1 for each correct answer and no negative marking; the score card shows the net score with percentile.
- Time: no sectional time limit, and candidates can move between sections within the overall time; candidates report one hour before the scheduled start for verification.
- Mode conflict: the Test Structure page calls it a paper-pen test with three sections, while the FAQs, key dates and test centres pages describe a home-based remote-proctored test.
Source: KMAT 2026 test structure, FAQs and test centres pages (KMAT 2026 cycle).
How to Apply for KMAT 2026
Registration is online through the KMAT Application link on kmatindia.com: candidates fill in the registration form, pay the fee online and receive a candidate summary sheet with the payment details as confirmation. The admit card is issued online and must be downloaded, and the score card shows the net score with percentile.
Source: official notice.
Apply online on the official portal: https://kmatindia26.cbrt.co.in/form-submission/kmat-landing
Frequently Asked Questions
Who conducts KMAT 2026?
KMAT 2026 is conducted by Karnataka Private Post Graduate Colleges' Association (KPPGCA).
What is the eligibility for KMAT 2026?
The KMAT 2026 eligibility page states the criteria below in general terms and says individual institutions may vary. Criterion Requirement Qualifying degree Bachelor's degree of at least three years, or a master's degree, from a recognised institution in Commerce, Management, Arts, Social Sciences, Engineering or Technology, or an equivalent discipline Minimum marks At least 50% in aggregate (general category); 45% for SC/ST candidates is described as typically accepted Final-year candidates…
What is the exam pattern of KMAT 2026?
The FAQs describe KMAT 2026 as a home-based online remote-proctored test of 120 multiple-choice questions in 120 minutes. The website's pages describe the sections differently, so both versions are shown. Section (FAQs and syllabus) Topics listed on the Test Structure page Verbal Ability and Reading Comprehension Reading comprehension, vocabulary, grammar, synonyms, antonyms, sentence completion Quantitative Ability Arithmetic, algebra, geometry, trigonometry, statistics, modern mathematics…
How do I apply for KMAT 2026?
Registration is online through the KMAT Application link on kmatindia.com: candidates fill in the registration form, pay the fee online and receive a candidate summary sheet with the payment details as confirmation. The admit card is issued online and must be downloaded, and the score card shows the net score with percentile. Source: official notice .
What is the official website of KMAT 2026?
The official website is https://www.kmatindia.com/.