CollegeChalo
UPSC CMS 2027 logo
GovernmentNational

UPSC CMS 2027

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), New Delhi

Coming Soon
18 Jul 2027
National Level
Government

Quick Actions

Overview

UPSC CMS is the Union Public Service Commission's exam to recruit medical officers; the CMS 2027 written exam is scheduled for 18 July 2027 (UPSC annual calendar, liable to alteration). Its official name is the Combined Medical Services Examination (CMSE). Candidates who qualify in the written papers and the Personality Test are recommended for Medical Officer posts in the General Duty sub-cadre of the Central Health Service, Assistant Divisional Medical Officer posts in the Railways, and General Duty Medical Officer posts in the New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC) and the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD). The 2026 notice advertised 1,358 tentative vacancies across these four posts.

UPSC CMS at a glance

ItemDetails
Conducting bodyUnion Public Service Commission (UPSC), New Delhi
LevelRecruitment to government medical officer posts; MBBS qualification
PurposeMedical Officer recruitment: Central Health Service (General Duty sub-cadre), Railways (Assistant Divisional Medical Officer), NDMC and MCD (General Duty Medical Officer)
ModeWritten examination of two objective-type (multiple-choice) papers, followed by a Personality Test (interview)
FrequencyOnce a year; the written examination is held on a single day
DurationTwo papers of 2 hours each (2026: Paper I 9:30 am to 11:30 am, Paper II 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm)
LanguagesQuestion papers in English only (2026 notification)
Application fee (2026)Rs 200; female, SC, ST and PwBD candidates are exempt; OBC and EWS candidates pay in full
Exam centres (2026)48 numbered centres across India in the 2026 notice
Official websiteupsc.gov.in; applications at upsconline.nic.in

Important dates (UPSC CMS 2027)

EventDate
Notification3 March 2027 (UPSC calendar of 20 May 2026; liable to alteration)
e-Admit CardNot announced yet
Provisional answer key and representationsNot announced yet
Written exam resultNot announced yet
Personality Test (interview)Not announced yet

Previous cycle: UPSC CMS 2026

EventDate (2026 cycle)
Notification (notice no. 9/2026-CMS)11 March 2026
Last date to apply31 March 2026, 6:00 pm
Written examination2 August 2026 (Paper I 9:30 am to 11:30 am; Paper II 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm)
Written result declared1 September 2026
Personality TestsFrom 12 October 2026 (notice of 25 September 2026)

Vacancies and how scores are used

Post (2026 notice)Tentative vacancies
Medical Officers Grade, General Duty sub-cadre, Central Health Service864 (34 identified for persons with benchmark disabilities)
Assistant Divisional Medical Officer, Railways450 (18 for persons with benchmark disabilities)
General Duty Medical Officer, New Delhi Municipal Council14 (none for persons with benchmark disabilities)
General Duty Medical Officer Grade-II, Municipal Corporation of Delhi30 (2 for persons with benchmark disabilities)

The written examination carries 500 marks and the Personality Test 100 marks. Candidates are considered for appointment in order of merit, and the Commission may fix qualifying marks in either or both papers. The notice calls the vacancy numbers tentative and open to change. In the 2026 cycle the written result was declared 30 days after the exam (2 August to 1 September 2026) and the Personality Tests began on 12 October 2026. Reservation is applied to the vacancies as fixed by the Government, and selected candidates must meet the physical and medical standards in Appendix III to the rules of the examination.

Sources: UPSC programme of examinations 2027 (as on 20 May 2026); CMS 2026 examination notice no. 9/2026-CMS (11 March 2026); CMS 2026 time table; CMS 2026 Personality Test notice (25 September 2026); UPSC website. Checked on 5 October 2026.

Conducting Body

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), New Delhi

Category

Government

Level

National

Important Dates

UPSC CMS 2027 important dates
EventDateStatus
Application opensNot announced yetAwaiting official notice
Application closes168 days to go
Exam date285 days to go

Eligibility Criteria

The criteria below are from the CMS 2026 notification (notice no. 9/2026-CMS, 11 March 2026); the 2027 notification may change them. The notification does not state a limit on the number of attempts.

CriterionRequirement
NationalityCitizen of India; or subject of Nepal or Bhutan; or Tibetan refugee who came to India before 1 January 1962 to settle permanently; or person of Indian origin who migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or Vietnam to settle permanently. Candidates who are not Indian citizens need a certificate of eligibility from the Government of India
QualificationPassed the written and practical parts of the final MBBS examination
Appearing candidatesThose who have appeared or are yet to appear in the final MBBS may apply; admission is provisional until proof of passing is produced within the time limit in the notification
InternshipA candidate yet to complete the compulsory rotating internship may apply, but is appointed only after completing it
Age limitMust not have attained 32 years on 1 August 2026 (born not earlier than 2 August 1994); the limit is 35 years for Medical Officers Grade in the Central Health Service General Duty sub-cadre
Physical and medical standardsAs per Appendix III to the rules of the examination
  • SC and ST candidates: upper age limit relaxed by up to 5 years.
  • OBC candidates eligible for reservation: up to 3 years.
  • Defence personnel disabled in operations or in a disturbed area: up to 3 years.
  • Ex-servicemen, ECOs and SSCOs with at least 5 years of military service who meet the release conditions: up to 5 years.
  • Persons with benchmark disability: up to 10 years.
  • SC, ST and OBC candidates who also fall under the ex-servicemen or benchmark disability clauses get the relaxations cumulatively.

Source: CMS 2026 notification (2026 cycle).

Exam Pattern

UPSC CMS has two stages: a written examination of two objective-type papers (500 marks) and a Personality Test (100 marks). The scheme below is from the CMS 2026 notification.

PaperSubjects (questions)QuestionsMarksDuration
Paper IGeneral Medicine (96); Paediatrics (24)1202502 hours
Paper IISurgery (40); Gynaecology and Obstetrics (40); Preventive and Social Medicine (40)1202502 hours
Personality TestInterview of candidates who qualify in the written examinationNot applicable100Not stated
TotalWritten 500 plus Personality Test 100240600
  • Question type: objective (multiple choice) with four options per question; the 2026 papers were set in English only.
  • Negative marking: for each wrong answer, one third of the marks assigned to the question is deducted. More than one answer marked is treated as wrong; a blank answer carries no penalty.
  • Qualifying marks: the Commission may fix qualifying marks in either or both papers.
  • Calculators are not permitted.
  • Scribe: allowed only for candidates with benchmark disabilities in blindness, locomotor disability (both arms affected) and cerebral palsy, if they ask for it.
  • Admit card: the printed e-Admit Card and a photo identity card are required at every session.
  • 2026 schedule: both papers on 2 August 2026, Paper I from 9:30 am to 11:30 am and Paper II from 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm.

Source: CMS 2026 notification and time table (2026 cycle).

Syllabus

Paper I: General Medicine and Paediatrics

  • General Medicine (96 questions): cardiology; respiratory diseases; gastro-intestinal; genito-urinary; neurology; haematology; endocrinology; metabolic disorders; infections and communicable diseases (viral, bacterial, spirochetal, protozoan, metazoan, fungal); nutrition and growth; dermatology; musculoskeletal system; psychiatry (depression, psychosis, anxiety, bipolar disease, schizophrenia); emergency medicine; common poisoning; snake bite; tropical medicine; critical care medicine; medical procedures; patho-physiological basis of diseases; vaccine-preventable and non-vaccine-preventable diseases; vitamin deficiency diseases.
  • Paediatrics (24 questions): common childhood emergencies; basic newborn care; developmental milestones; accidents and poisonings in children; birth defects and counselling including autism; immunisation; children with special needs; national child health programmes.

Paper II: Surgery, Gynaecology and Obstetrics, Preventive and Social Medicine

  • Surgery (40 questions, including ENT, ophthalmology, traumatology and orthopaedics): general surgery (wounds, infections, tumours, lymphatics, blood vessels, head and neck, breast, alimentary tract, liver, bile and pancreas, spleen, peritoneum, abdominal wall and injuries); urological, neuro, ENT, thoracic and orthopaedic surgery; ophthalmology; anaesthesiology; traumatology; pre-operative and post-operative care; medicolegal and ethical issues; wound healing; fluid and electrolyte management; shock.
  • Gynaecology and Obstetrics (40 questions): antenatal, intranatal and postnatal conditions; management of normal and complicated labour; applied anatomy and physiology; genital tract infections and neoplasms; high-risk pregnancy; abortions; medicolegal examination; family planning (contraceptives, IUD and oral pills, sterilisation, medical termination of pregnancy).
  • Preventive and Social Medicine (40 questions): social and community medicine; concept of health, disease and preventive medicine; health administration and planning; general epidemiology; demography and health statistics; communicable and non-communicable diseases; environmental health; nutrition and health; occupational health; genetics and health; international health; medical sociology and health education.

Source: CMS 2026 notification, Appendix I (scheme and syllabus, 2026 cycle).

How to Apply for UPSC CMS 2027

  1. Open the UPSC online application portal, upsconline.nic.in, and create an account with a valid, active email ID.
  2. Complete the one-time Universal Registration to get a Universal Registration Number (URN); the profile can be edited once and applies only to applications made afterwards.
  3. Fill the Common Application Form: upload a photograph, capture a live photograph, upload a signature (signed three times, one below the other, in black ink on plain white paper) and submit the documents supporting claims such as date of birth, category and educational qualification.
  4. Fill the examination-specific module (centre and fee) and pay online by net banking, card or UPI.
  5. Submit before the closing date and time (2026 cycle: 31 March 2026, 6:00 pm). Applications cannot be withdrawn after submission, and the fee is not refunded.
  6. Download the e-Admit Card from the portal; none is sent by post or email. For the 2026 exam it was issued on the last working day of the week before the exam.
CategoryFee (2026 notice)
Male candidates other than SC, ST and PwBD (including OBC and EWS)Rs 200
Female, SC, ST and PwBD candidatesExempt
  • Proof of date of birth and of passing the qualifying examination (degree certificate, final marksheet or provisional degree certificate).
  • Category certificates (SC, ST, OBC, EWS, PwBD, ex-servicemen) wherever a claim is made.
  • Certificate of eligibility from the Government of India for candidates who are not Indian citizens.
  • A photo identity card, whose number is shown on the e-Admit Card, for the examination.

Source: CMS 2026 notification and press note on e-Admit Cards (2026 cycle).

Apply online on the official portal: https://upsconline.nic.in/

Frequently Asked Questions

When is UPSC CMS 2027?

UPSC CMS 2027 is scheduled for 18 July 2027.

When can I apply for UPSC CMS 2027?

The last date to apply is 23 March 2027.

Who conducts UPSC CMS 2027?

UPSC CMS 2027 is conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), New Delhi.

What is the eligibility for UPSC CMS 2027?

The criteria below are from the CMS 2026 notification (notice no. 9/2026-CMS, 11 March 2026); the 2027 notification may change them. The notification does not state a limit on the number of attempts. Criterion Requirement Nationality Citizen of India; or subject of Nepal or Bhutan; or Tibetan refugee who came to India before 1 January 1962 to settle permanently; or person of Indian origin who migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or…

What is the exam pattern of UPSC CMS 2027?

UPSC CMS has two stages: a written examination of two objective-type papers (500 marks) and a Personality Test (100 marks). The scheme below is from the CMS 2026 notification. Paper Subjects (questions) Questions Marks Duration Paper I General Medicine (96); Paediatrics (24) 120 250 2 hours Paper II Surgery (40); Gynaecology and Obstetrics (40); Preventive and Social Medicine (40) 120 250 2 hours Personality Test Interview of candidates who qualify in the written examination Not applicable 100…

What is the syllabus of UPSC CMS 2027?

Paper I: General Medicine and Paediatrics General Medicine (96 questions): cardiology; respiratory diseases; gastro-intestinal; genito-urinary; neurology; haematology; endocrinology; metabolic disorders; infections and communicable diseases (viral, bacterial, spirochetal, protozoan, metazoan, fungal); nutrition and growth; dermatology; musculoskeletal system; psychiatry (depression, psychosis, anxiety, bipolar disease, schizophrenia); emergency medicine; common poisoning; snake bite; tropical…

How do I apply for UPSC CMS 2027?

Open the UPSC online application portal, upsconline.nic.in, and create an account with a valid, active email ID. Complete the one-time Universal Registration to get a Universal Registration Number (URN); the profile can be edited once and applies only to applications made afterwards. Fill the Common Application Form: upload a photograph, capture a live photograph, upload a signature (signed three times, one below the other, in black ink on plain white paper) and submit the documents supporting…

What is the official website of UPSC CMS 2027?

The official website is https://upsc.gov.in/.